High up

tgompabw

Three monasteries in the Himalayas are called Taktsang, meaning Tiger’s Nest. They are all supposed to have been established by the guru Padmasambhava, who brought Buddhism to the region. The first one I had seen was in Bhutan, and involved a couple of hours’ climb along a muddy path. This photo is from my second, a monastery on the road between Zemithang and Tawang in Arunachal Pradesh.

The sunny day was turning cloudy when we arrived at the Gompa. It is perched on a hill overlooking a long valley. There was a bitterly cold wind which blew through the valley and chilled the monastery. A woman inside the monastery was praying, and her rhythmic chant provided a human counterpoint to the sound of the wind.

I’m still trying to see the world in black and white. When I was ten years old, that is all I could afford to see. Years full of the luxury of colour have destroyed that skill.

I made this for Narami’s Tuesday texture challenge and then forgot to ping back. It has been a crazy week.

I guess this also qualifies for Cee’s open themed B&W challenge.

5 thoughts on “High up

  1. beautiful in B&W. me too, I am also trying to see world in B&W, often hesitant to remove color and it always surprises me how good a photo turns out without color.

    Like

Leave a Reply

