Movement

wateroverstone

I live by the sea, and sometimes spend my time just looking at the motion of the water. It’s very hard to capture the motion of the sea with my camera. Nothing hangs over the water to create a shadow, and the sun is so harsh that I can never stop down the aperture enough to try a long exposure. So when I stood next to the Kanchendzonga waterfall in Sikkim I looked down at the tree-shaded flow and realized that I could try out all the tricks I’d been thinking of. Here is a half second exposure: not long enough to smooth out the flow entirely, but long enough to blur everything. Even the sunlight rippling through the water gets blurred out. I should try out this kind of thing more often.

Just right for the Dance challenge, isn’t it? The subject is mundane enough for Photrablogger I think. A few weeks ago Narami asked why people don’t think of smoothness as a texture in her texture challenge. Thanks for the suggestion. Cee asks for a happy photo, and taking this certainly made me happy.

5 thoughts on “Movement

    1. I remember a few frustrating times behind a camera; like when the batteries ran out just when I spotted a family of wild pigs, or when I had a glimpse of a leopard and the camera took too long to come on, or when everything was just right, but the wild elephant I spotted was too nervous, and I had to walk away quickly to avoid spooking it. But usually, it’s like you say: happier with a camera in hand.

      Like

Leave a Reply

