Red Pierrot

butterfly

The Red Pierrot is not a very common butterfly, at least not in urban Mumbai. Although I’ve seen one occasionally, its never been when I had a good camera with me. One morning in February, I was on my way to work and this small guy fluttered past my face and perched on a tiny flower on a roadside weed. The light was perfect, but the only camera I had was my phone. I took a long shot for the record, and then leaned in for a closer shot, hoping that I do not scare it away. It sat there as I photographed it, and then for a while longer.

Mid-morning is a good time for butterfly photos, since they are still lethargic, and need to sun themselves. So at this time you get them resting and in good light.

This one is for Sally D’s mobile macro challenge. The roadside patch of weeds also perhaps makes it eligible for PhoTrablogger’s Mundane Monday challenge.

8 thoughts on “Red Pierrot

Leave a Reply

